“PEOPLE’S WHOLE LIVES DO PASS IN FRONT OF THEIR EYES BEFORE THEY DIE. THE PROCESS IS CALLED ‘LIVING'”

I believe in the rule of law, and that the rule of law means that no one is above it.

I believe that if you have the will to use it wisely, without harming others, you can turn a vice into a virtue.

I believe that one must always not only look to the larger picture, but how it affects individual lives.

I believe that people aren’t good, or evil, but both. That’s okay. The greatest injustice is to treat someone, or a group of someones, as an absolute, because that turns people into objects.

I can’t say I believe all of these things because of Terry Pratchett’s books. Some of them had some basis before I read any of his work, some of them came about through multiple influences. But Discworld gave me a framework and language for these beliefs. And jokes, and amazing moments of strength, and fantastic characters.

Thank you, Sir Pratchett. May you be exactly where you’d like to be.

2 thoughts on ““PEOPLE’S WHOLE LIVES DO PASS IN FRONT OF THEIR EYES BEFORE THEY DIE. THE PROCESS IS CALLED ‘LIVING'”

  1. Beautifully put. As the years go by, I find there are more and more points upon which Pratchett and I differ, but I still have huge respect for him as an author, a philosopher, and as someone trying (just like the rest of us) to build a himself a functional moral compass. Not to mention his ability to be devastatingly entertaining along with it.

    He brought a lot of joy into the world (and to my knowledge inflicted no great or lasting harm upon anybody) – I think that’s just about the highest compliment I could apply to someone. He well be greatly treasured and sorely missed for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

