The Truth is Out There

If you ask me what my favorite or the best television show I’ve seen is, I’ll babble for a while and do things like try to find words to express how amazing Kenneth Branagh is in BBC’s Wallander, but it will basically all be a lead up to me saying “yeah it’s the seasons of Homicide: Life on the Street before executive meddling started screwing things up.” (And, if this discussion is online, I’ll probably end by linking to this clip, which will demonstrate why for me.)

But if you ask me what television show has had the most impact on me, personally, the answer’s going to be immediate, and I must with shame admit it’s not Homicide.

It’s The X-Files. It’s definitely The X-Files.

From Mulder and Scully’s relationship to overwritten philosophical voice-overs to self-aware and self-mocking episodes to the Smoking Man’s method of villainy to  the lack of lighting (especially to the lack of lighting), X-Files is all over me, for better and worse.

Since I’ve been getting addicted to blogs that recap and evaluate series, things like Jenny Trout’s Big Damn Buffy Rewatch or Ronan Wills’ Let’s Watch of Dollhouse, and since The X-Files is all (save the movies) up on Netflix and I have the password to my parents’ account, I’ve been thinking of starting a project. A “rewatching/watching all of X-Files and blogging about it” project. I’ve never seen the show in full order and there are parts of it (admittedly, a lot of them in the last two seasons) I totally missed, so this is something I’d like to do with my free time anyway. And blogging about it will encourage me to think more critically about the show while I do so, and allow for conversation with all of you lovely folks.

Watch out, internet.

Leave a Reply

